2017 Books · may2017reading

Beartown

Beartown

I stayed up until 12:30am last night to finish this book.  It was partly because it was due back to the library this morning but mostly because I couldn’t put it down.  The writing was brilliant.  It went from breaking my heart to making me laugh to moving me profoundly every chapter.  Disclaimer: the subject matter is tough.  I don’t think it’s too big of a spoiler alert to let you know that a girl is attacked and that triggers a ripple effect to the entire town.  However, the book is so much more than that.

I’ve never been a big fan of sports.  My dad passed away when I was 10, I don’t have any brothers, and my boyfriends have never been obsessed with it.  So, when everyone else is attending sporting events, I’m hanging out with friends or settling down with a good book.  That being said, I still loved the descriptions of hockey and the people that play it in this book.  I got as swept up as the crowd when the team would score an improbable goal.  I saw all the good it did to people, and I saw all the bad it did to people.  It’s a book about unity, loyalty, courage, and doing what’s right when you know it will cost you possibly everything.  I loved this book and I will be thinking about it for a long time.

5 Stars

Leave a Reply

