2017 Books · march2017reading · Quick Lit

March Reading

Time for a quick round-up of what I read in March!

This is How

This Is How It Always Is by Laurie Frankel

I read this for the MMD book club and have so many thoughts about it!  On the one hand, it was well-written, engaging, and had interesting characters.  On the other hand, I didn’t agree with everything that was taken for granted as true in the book.  For example, it was assumed that if your five year old boy feels like a girl, then he IS a girl regardless of what gender his body actually is.  Then, all of the storylines built on that premise.  However, I can’t say that I agree with that (controversial, I know!) and so several of the conversations and decisions veered into an area that I didn’t think was always best for the child.  However, it was very clear that these parents loved their child and wanted what was best for him, and I enjoyed reading a book that I wouldn’t have otherwise picked up.

Caraval

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

When everything is a part of a game, how do you know what’s real?  This book was cute, colorful, and magical.  The storyline wasn’t perfect but it almost didn’t matter because I had such a great time it.

Behind Her Eyes

Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

This page-turner was a fast-paced thriller with a bizarre and unpredictable ending.  It was twisted and strange but I love books that can surprise me and I thought this one did a great job of it.

Mother's

A Mother’s Reckoning: Living in the Aftermath of Tragedy by Sue Klebold

And my Columbine obsession continues!  I loved Columbine by Dave Cullen so much last month that I have started reading everything related I can get my hands on.  First up was this memoir by the mother of one of the shooters, Dylan Klebold.  Dylan was unquestionably fascinating in Columbine because his journals and personality seemed so different from the boy who murdered his classmates, and this book expounds on that.  What Dylan did genuinely shocked his family to their core and it was heartbreaking to read.  However, the unconditional love Sue still has for her son was also quite beautiful.

Be Frank

Be Frank With Me by Julia Claiborne Johnson

What can I say?  This one really didn’t do it for me.  My best friend loved it and called it charming so I went in with high expectations.  However, I found it to be very sad and the storyline slow.  I didn’t like any of the characters and I didn’t think the ending was very satisfying.  Definitely my least favorite of the month.

Talking

Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham

I ADORE Gilmore Girls and by extension Lauren Graham so I knew that unless this book was truly awful, I would enjoy it.  It would have been better as an audio book, I think, because the writing comes across as rambling sometimes.  However, if Lorelai Gilmore had been reading it (and Lauren basically IS Lorelai), it would have been even better.  Perfect for fans of Gilmore Girls and Parenthood.

Overall, it was a fun month for reading!  I’m hoping to keep this pace up so that I can finish my Goodreads goal of 50 books this year.  So far, I’m on track. 🙂

This post is linked to Modern Mrs. Darcy’s Quick Lit.  Head over and see what others are reading!

2 thoughts on “March Reading

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s